Transferring to 1st Class Real Estate
If you are an active real estate salesperson, transferring to our firm is fast and seamless! Any licensee may transfer from one licensed real estate firm or sole proprietorship to another by completing and submitting to the board a transfer application and fee of $60. The transfer application shall include the signature of the new principal broker or supervising broker with signature authority who will be responsible for the licensee’s real estate activities and shall be effective upon the principal broker or supervising broker’s execution of the transfer application. Start doing business with us the day you sign paperwork!
Becoming a Real Estate Agent
The Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) requires that all persons wanting to become licensed salespersons (Virginia real estate agents) in the State of Virginia must complete a 60-hour pre-licensing course. Virginia Salesperson candidates must earn 60 credit hours of state-approved real estate education from a state-approved real estate schools. . In addition, VA Salespersons must: -Be at least 18 years of age -Hold a high school diploma or certificate of equivalency -Pass the VA state licensing examination -Affiliate with a licensed Broker within 1 year. To learn more about Virginia Salesperson licensing requirements, visit the Virginia Real Estate Board.
Pre-license Course Options
Computer-based – Work from your home or office to satisfy your Virginia real estate pre-license course. People save time, expense, and effort when they complete the required education online. There are a few different options from Alpha Real Estate School, Mosely Real Estate Schools, and Career Web School that offer online courses.
These courses consist of real estate principles and practices, and Virginia Real Estate License Law. The course covers all of the subject matter prescribed by the Virginia Real Estate Commission. Passing these courses qualifies students to take the Virginia licensing exam.
Classroom-based – A list of approved schools is available on the DPOR website. Alpha College of Real Estate and Mosely Real Estate School are two local classroom-based programs that we recommend.
Exam Requirements – After completing the 60-hour Pre-License course, you must register to take the state licensing exam. Obtaining a sales associate license is a four-step process after completing your course and obtaining your completion certificate.
Step 1: Schedule an appointment to take the state licensing exam and receive a passing score. The cost of this PSI Exam is $75 for both national and Virginia state portions.
Step 2: Schedule an appointment with PSI for fingerprinting. This cost approximately $62.
Step 3: Come to our office to complete a new agent packet where you’ll complete a state application. The applicant must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalency, and have a passing PSI exam. Questions must be answered regarding any criminal background and licensing history for any professional licenses. An application fee of $170 is also required.
Step 4: Upon approval of the application, DPOR will issue your license so we can then set up your MLS access and all other company associated systems to get you started doing business!
Referral Agent Status
All Or Nothing LLC (Referral Company):
We have set up a separate real estate firm for referral purposes. All or Nothing LLC, which is designed for those licensees who have a valid Virginia real estate license but do not wish to be actively involved in selling real estate.
The “alternative real estate career” provides the opportunity to refer family, friends, neighbors and business colleagues to full time, professional associates and receive a significant referral fee.
If you have any questions, please call us at 504-4636 or e-mail Join@1stClassRE.com